hello world!

Understanding the Different Categories and Classes of Water Damage

Water damage is a common problem faced by homeowners and businesses alike. It can lead to significant financial loss and health risks if not addressed promptly and effectively. To properly deal with water damage, it is essential to understand the different categories and classes of water damage. This knowledge will help you make informed decisions regarding the best course of action for your specific situation.

Categories of Water Damage

The Institute of Inspection, Cleaning and Restoration Certification (IICRC) has established three categories of water damage based on the level of contamination present in the water.

  1. Category 1: Clean Water

    Clean water comes from a sanitary source, such as a broken water supply line or faucet. This type of water does not pose a significant risk to humans or animals. However, if not treated quickly, clean water can become contaminated and progress to Category 2 or 3 water damage.

  2. Category 2: Grey Water

    Grey water contains a significant level of contamination and has the potential to cause discomfort or illness if ingested. Sources of grey water may include dishwasher or washing machine overflows, toilet overflows with urine (but no feces), and sump pump failures. It is crucial to address this type of water damage promptly, as grey water can quickly progress to Category 3 water damage.

  3. Category 3: Black Water

    Black water is highly contaminated and contains pathogenic agents or toxic substances that can cause severe illness or death if ingested. Sources of black water include sewer backups, flooding from rivers or streams, toilet overflows containing feces, and stagnant water that has supported microbial growth. Due to the serious health risks associated with black water, professional remediation is highly recommended.

Classes of Water Damage

The IICRC has also established four classes of water damage based on the extent of water intrusion and the rate of evaporation.

  1. Class 1: Slow Evaporation Rate

    Class 1 water damage is the least severe, with minimal moisture absorption by materials. This type of damage typically affects only a small area, and water has not saturated the surrounding materials. Rapid response and drying can often prevent further damage.

  2. Class 2: Fast Evaporation Rate

    Class 2 water damage affects an entire room, with water absorption into carpets, cushions, and other porous materials. The moisture may have also wicked up walls, but is generally less than 24 inches high. Prompt action is necessary to prevent further damage and mold growth.

  3. Class 3: Fastest Evaporation Rate

    Class 3 water damage involves the greatest amount of water and the highest rate of evaporation. Water may have come from overhead, saturating walls, ceilings, insulation, and carpets. This type of damage requires professional intervention to ensure proper drying and restoration.

  4. Class 4: Specialty Drying Situations

    Class 4 water damage involves materials with low permeability, such as hardwood floors, concrete, and plaster. These materials require special drying techniques and a longer drying time to prevent further damage and mold growth.


Understanding the different categories and classes of water damage is crucial for assessing the severity of the situation and determining the best course of action. Whether you are facing clean water or highly contaminated black water, prompt response and professional assistance can help minimize the damage and protect your property and health.

Site Safe Member
Restoration Industry Association
safety work kits
Flood Restoration
Fire Restoration
Mould Removal
iDry Logo white500
369 Great North Road, Henderson, Auckland 
Get in touch with us for free quote
Get Quote
Copyright © 2019 - 2024 iDry Restorations. All Rights Reserved.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram